Antenna Uit de APC Nieuwsgroep: women.violence

Geschreven door op 21 Apr 1996 16:33:06 met als onderwerp: TELECOMMUNICATIONS BILL (fwd)

From: (Geneve Gil)

>Date: Sat, 20 Apr 1996 17:45:08 -0500 (CDT)
>From: lemaitre monique j
>Mime-Version: 1.0
>Precedence: bulk
>---------- Forwarded message ----------
>Date: Sat, 20 Apr 1996 13:17:33 -0700 (PDT)
>From: Peter Rashkin
>Please sign, forward and cc: president@whitehouse.GOV
>As many of you may know on February 1, 1996, both houses of congress passed
>a telecommunications bill that, among other things, has made it illegal to
>discuss abortion anywhere on the internet. This means newsgroups, web
>pages, ftp sites, gopher sites and e-mails of any kind.
>On Thursday, February 8, President Clinton signed the bill into law. The law
>has gone into effect as of midnight, February 9. This makes this e-mail
>illegal and punishable by jail time or heavy fines. The federal government
>is abusing its power and its citizenry in gross violation of
>the Constitution.
>This e-mail can be used as a form of civil disobedience. Please sign your
>name on the list below, and forward it to as many people as possible.
>I object to the U.S. government's prohibition of any discussion of abortion
>on the internet.
>1. Elizabeth Katz, student, Vassar College.
>2. Julienne Silverman, Vassar College
>3. Joanna Kalb, Cornell University
>4. Lucinda Schutzman, Shoreham-Wading River High School
>5. Kate Murnane, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
>6. John Evans, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
>7. Alexandra Hartman, University of Virginia
>8. Sherry Edwards, Christopher Newport University
>9. Moin Hussaini, Johns Hopkins University
>10. Thomas Jones, Johns Hopkins University
>11. Steven Donnally, Johns Hopkins University
>12. Susanna Henighan, Oberlin College
>13. Rachel Henighan, Swarthmore College
>14. Katie Klingensmith, Swarthmore College
>15. Gypsyamber Berg-Cross, Swarthmore College
>16. Ana Pedraza, Swarthmore College
>17. Aurora Pedraza, Oberlin College
>16. Ana Pedraza, Swarthmore College
>17. Aurora Pedraza, Oberlin College
>18. Hilda Canes, Oberlin College
>19. Anna E. Hiller, Oberlin College
>20. Stacy H. Westbrook, Reed College
>21. David Fogarty, Portland OR
>22. David Sklar, Indiana University
>24. Julianna H. Sikes, nazareth college, Rochester, NY
>25. Jodi Sperber, Jamaica Plain, MA
>26. Cory Sarah-Morse, Cambridge, MA
>27. Sarah Church Cambridge, MA
>28. Deborah Deemer, University of Northern Iowa
>29. Theo Dawson, University of California at Berkeley
>30. Cheryl Armon, Ed.D., Antioch University Los Angeles
>31. Eloise Klein Healy, Antioch University Los Angeles
>32. Gerry Gomez Pearlberg, Writer/Editor
>33. Jan Freeman, Writer
>34. Tara Lumpkin, Anthropologist/Writer, Taos, NM
>35. Peter du Pont, Int'l Inst for Energy Conservation, Wash, DC
>36. Warren Byrne, Management Consultant, Wash., DC
>37. Bill Mott, Conservationist, Washington, DC
>38. Joseph Zaia, University of Maryland, Baltimore County
>39. Ulf Baumann, MIT
>40. Ashley Wodtke, MIT
>41. Rev. Judith A. Gould, Pastor, Rumford, Maine
>42. REv. Dr. Susan E. Davies, Bangor Theological Seminary, Bangor,
>43. Rev. Gerald R. Fritz, Pastor, Machias, Maine
>44. Rev. Sue Judson Hamly, Pastor, Deocrah, Iowa
>45. Ms. Kyle Ann Lovett, Special Project Staff, Northern California-Nevada
>Conference, United Church of Christ, Berkeley, CA
>46. The Rev. Jeffrey S. Spencer, Tolt Congregational United Church of
> Christ, Carnation, WA
>47. Myron Ruderman, writer, 3048 230th Lane SE, Apt. R301, Issaquah, WA 98029
>48. Faith Sohl, Software Test Engineer, 4405 Ames Lk Carnatn Rd NE, Redmond
>WA 98053
>49. Laura Land RN, University of Washington School of Nursing, Seattle, WA
>50. Ian Rashkin, The Young Composers Collective, Seattle, WA
>51. Peter Rashkin, Carson, CA
>52. Dr. Monique J. Lemaitre, Professor, literary critic, writer, DeKalb, Il.
>62. Geneve Gil, student, University Fellow, Rockefeller Fellow, Austin, TX

Geneve Gil
4505 Duval St. #225
Austin, TX

(512) 459-5678

Index Mail Vorige Volgende